Under Muslim occupation…

TurkeyAfter the Turkish invasion of Cyprus in 1974 the Mediterranean island has been divided into two parts. The Republic of Cyprus in the south is the internationally recognized part, while The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is only recognized by Turkey. An article by The Christian Post reports that 530 of the Christian churches and monasteries in the northern part of Cyprus have been vandalized or destroyed after it came under Turkish Muslim occupation more than 30 years ago. In fact, only one church, the 18th century St. Mamas Church in the town of Morphou is permitted to have some activity. The Turkish officials permit two yearly worship services only.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: